WABE Receives Numerous Prestigious Awards For Journalistic Excellence In 2019

'Add to My List' icon 'Added to My List' icon Add to My List In My List

WABE, Atlanta’s NPR station, has been awarded numerous industry-leading awards in 2019, honoring its reporting, storytelling and journalistic excellence.

WABE won the Pacemaker award at the Georgia Associated Press Media Editors Awards.

2018 Georgia Associated Press Media Editors Awards and Pacemaker Award (Awarded in June 2019)

WABE was the top radio winner in the Georgia Associated Press Media Editors Awards and received the Pacemaker Award for this distinction. WABE won five first-place awards, including best newscast, and three second-place awards. Specific stories include:

Green Eyeshade Awards

Presented by the Society of Professional Journalists, the Green Eyeshade Awards recognize journalistic excellence in 11 Southern states.  WABE was presented with four Green Eyeshade Awards:

Specific stories include:

  • Feature Reporting First Place: Molly Samuel, Sea Level Rise in Georgia
  • Feature Reporting Second Place: WABE Radio – Stephannie Stokes, 3 PM Eviction Hearing
  • Documentary Second Place: WABE Radio – Johnny Kauffman & Angela CaputoWho Gets To Vote?
  • Investigative Reporting Third Place: WABE Radio – Jim Burress, The Big Disconnect: What Happened to Google Fiber in Atlanta


Peabody Award – Radio/Podcast

Season one of WABE’s powerful podcast, Buried Truths, was awarded a prestigious Peabody Award in the radio/podcast category.  The Peabody winners represent the most compelling and empowering stories released in broadcasting and digital media during the past year.  The 30 winners were selected by a jury of media luminaries from more than 1,200 entries.

Robert F. Kennedy Human Rights Journalist Award for Radio

The first season of Buried Truths was recently awarded the Robert F. Kennedy Human Rights Journalism Award.  The Awards honor outstanding reporting on issues that reflect Robert Kennedy’s concerns, including human rights, social justice, and the power of individual action in the United States and around the world.

Webby Award

Season one of Buried Truths was named an Honoree in the Crime and Justice category of the Webby Awards.  The Webby Awards are the leading international award honoring excellence on the internet.

Buried Truths, a podcast from WABE hosted by Pulitzer-Prize-winning journalist and educator Hank Klibanoff, acknowledges and unearths still-relevant stories of injustice, resilience and racism in the American South.  The podcast uses investigative journalism to honor lives and reveals what’s been hidden, not published and not taught.  Season 1 and season 2 of Buried Truths can be found here:  www.wabe.org/buriedtruths.