13 runoff races to watch on Election Day in metro Atlanta on Tuesday

A Joy to the Polls event in Atlanta on Dec. 6, 2021. Metro Atlantans will head to the polls on Tuesday, Dec. 5, 2023, to decide over a dozen local races. (Matthew Pearson/WABE)

Tuesday is the final Election Day of the year in metro Atlanta, with runoffs to decide who will claim over a dozen local government seats across the area.

The journey here started with nearly 100 contested races on the ballot in over 40 cities across the metro area last month

Tuesday’s runoffs include a hotly contested citywide school board seat in Atlanta, a race to decide Brookhaven’s new mayor and a number of city council races from South Fulton up to Sugar Hill and places in between.

The polls will be open from 7 a.m. – 7 p.m. on Tuesday; the metro Atlanta races at stake are listed below. Head to your Georgia My Voter Page to collect your sample ballot and more information. 

And check WABE’s 2023 Metro Atlanta Municipal Election Hub for the results of these races after the polls close.

(i) by the candidate’s name means they are the incumbent

Atlanta School Board At-Large Seat 7

Alfred “Shivy” Brooks vs. Tamara Jones (i) 

Brookhaven Mayor

Lauren Kiefer vs. John Park

Brookhaven City Council District 1

Michael Diaz vs. Linley Jones (i)

Doraville City Council District 2, Post 2

Carrie Armistead vs. MD Naser

East Point City Council Ward B

Josete Bailey (i) vs. Carrie Ziegler

East Point City Council Ward C

Myron Cook (i) vs. Tremayne Mitchell

East Point City Council Ward D

Stephanie Gordon (i) vs. Latonya Martin Rogers

Henry County Commission District 2

Bruce Holmes vs. Neat Robinson (i)

Roswell City Council Post 2

Michael Dal Cerro vs. Allen Sells

Snellville City Council Post 1

Norman Carter vs. Catherine Hardrick

South Fulton City Council District 5

Keosha B. Bell vs. Corey Reeves (i)

Stonecrest City Council District 2, Post 2

Terry Fye vs. Robert Turner (i)

Sugar Hill City Council Post 3

Meg Avery vs. Jenn Thatcher (i)