Metro Atlanta Cities And Counties With Coronavirus Restriction Orders In Place

A couple walks past the marquee of the Georgia Theatre Downton Athens, Georgia. A note posted on the theatre's door says they are close and all shows are postponed.
A couple walks past the marquee of the Georgia Theatre Downton Athens, Georgia. A note posted on the theatre's door says they are close and all shows are postponed.
Credit John Bazemore / Associated Press
'Add to My List' icon 'Added to My List' icon Add to My List In My List

Editor’s Note: Gov. Brian Kemp has now announced a state-wide shelter-in-place order that goes into effect Friday, April 3 and lasts until April 13. 

Last updated on April 1 at 6:47 p.m.

The coronavirus outbreak has brought restrictions on what citizens can do around the metro Atlanta area in order to slow the spread of COVID-19.

From stay-at-home to shelter-in-place guidance, locals in different cities are having to limit their outings to “essential” ones. This could mean just picking up groceries or going to see a healthcare provider.

Below is our list of county and city orders for their citizens during this time.

This list will be updated.


Clayton County has issued a shelter in place order while letting residents do “essential activities,” “essential governmental functions” and “to operate essential businesses.” This is planned to last from April 1 to 12.

There is a shelter in place order for Cobb County and all businesses that aren’t listed as “essential” on the order will have hours no earlier than 6 a.m. and no later than 9 p.m, except for time for restocking.

Dekalb County is under a stay-at-home order until further notice, according to the county’s website. People can only leave for “essential services or engage in certain essential activities.”

There’s a shelter in place order in Douglas County that is planned to last until April 10. All businesses are allowed to be open if they operate from 6 a.m. to 9 p.m. and follow social distancing measures, according to the county’s website.

Fulton County issued a state of emergency that will last until further notice. On April 1, the Fulton County Board of Health issued an order stating that residents can only leave their home for “essential tasks,” and could face up to 12 months of jail time and/or a $1,000 fine if they are out-and-about for other reasons.

Gwinnett County and all of its 16 cities have issued stay-at-home orders, according to the county’s website. The order is in effect until April 13 unless it is extended or rescinded. 

A 14-day shelter in place ordinance has been placed for the citizens in Rockdale County. The order, that it planned to expire on April 8, tells non-essential businesses to stop being open, except for “minimum basic operations,” according to the county’s website.


In Alpharetta, all in-person dining is prohibited and only take-out food, along with sealed containers of beer and wine, is permitted. Businesses are being encouraged to telecommute, and less than 10 people are allowed in non-essential businesses.

The City of Atlanta has issued a stay at home order that is planned to last for 14 days. The order put into effect on March 24 allows essential businesses, such as grocery stores, hardware stores and childcare facilities, to remain open.

Until April 15, Brookhaven will have dine-in services halted, only permitting take out. Playgrounds and facilities in parks and non-essential businesses are also closed. The city also has a curfew from 9 p.m. to 5 a.m. for everyone, but those who are exempt, such as food delivery persons, law enforcement and medical service providers.

Citizens in Chamblee are being directed to shelter in place until further notice. Only essential businesses are allowed to stay open.

Decatur has a stay at home order lasting until April 7, unless it is extended or stopped. Essential businesses that will remain open include grocery stores, pharmacies, banks, gas stations, restaurants offering to-go orders and auto supply and repair shops.

Dunwoody has a shelter-in-place order for all activities except for essential ones that began on March 28 at midnight, according to their website. The order lasts until April 15. Essential activities include working at businesses that are allowed to be open, picking up medication, caring for a pet and buying food. 

There’s a curfew in East Point starting at 9 p.m. and lasting until 7 a.m. for people in the city, aside for those who are exempt from the 14-day shelter in place order. The ordinance was signed on March 24. 

Parks in Marietta have reduced hours of 6 a.m. to 8 p.m., daily. In-person dining is not permitted. Bars and night clubs will be closed until the resolution ends tentatively on April 10.

No dining is allowed at restaurants in Roswell, and parks’ playgrounds, fields, restrooms and parking lots are closed, according to the city’s coronavirus response page updated on March 25.

In Sandy Springs, people in the city should “shelter at their places of residence, leaving only to receive essential services,” according to a March 24 statement from the city’s mayor.

Visit the city and counties’ websites for more information about their guidance for coronavirus.

WABE brings you the local stories and national news that you value and trust. Please make a gift today.Donate Now