Anti-Defamation League Lauds Kennesaw State

The Anti-Defamation League (ADL) has chosen Kennesaw State University (KSU) as the first university in the country to earn its “No Place for Hate” designation.

“No Place for Hate” is an ADL program that teaches tolerance and offers instruction in dealing with fighting, prejudice and bullying. It is in K-12 classes all over the country. Schools that complete the full curriculum earn the “No Place for Hate” designation.

But Kennesaw State is the first university to earn the designation, says ADL Southeast Regional Director Bill Nigut, because “Kennesaw State University has done a remarkable job teaching about bigotry and hatred through its constant presence in dealing with issues that relate to the Holocaust.”

KSU is in Cobb County, the site of the 1915 lynching of Leo Frank, which was the case that spurred the establishment of the Anti-Defamation League.

KSU Professor Catherine Lewis wrote the grant request to Atlanta’s Marcus Foundation that helped get the Holocaust Studies program started. She says, “The very first sentence of the grant was, ‘We are the community where Leo Frank was lynched, and what better place to tell the story?’”

Lewis says the school’s Holocaust studies program now reaches 100,000 people each year.


WABE brings you the local stories and national news that you value and trust. Please make a gift today.Donate Now